Women’s T20 event to take place during IPL 2019

To promote an IPL-like women’s cricket tournament, the BCCI had organised a T20 exhibition match between two women’s cricket teams led by Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet Kaur during last year’s Indian Premier League.

And now, with a vision to expand the event even further, there are set to be three teams this season to be led by Smriti Mandhana, Harmanpreet Kaur and Mithali Raj, with the matches being spread over a course of 7 to 10 days.

A senior BCCI official said on Friday, “Yes, the women’s T20 matches will be held this year also. It will be a week to 10 days affair during the men’s IPL.”

“At the max, we can have three teams with Harmanpreet, Smriti and may be Mithali (for this year) leading the sides. They play against each other once and the top two play a tournament decider. It could be a seven-day affair.”

Read full story on India Today.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here