Vidarbha beat Saurashtra to win back-to-back Ranji Trophy championships

Defending champions of the Ranji Trophy Vidarbha defeated Saurashtra in the finals of the 85th season of India’s coveted first-class domestic cricket tournament to win back-to-back Ranji titles on Thursday (February 7).

Chasing a target of 206 in the 2nd innings, Saurashtra got all-out on 127 runs in 58.4 overs owing to Vidarbha’s leg-spinner Aditya Sarwate’s excellent 24-over spell in which he claimed six wickets.

Sarwate had claimed 5 wickets for 98 runs in the first innings and was Vidarbha’s star performer, while Saurashtra batsman Cheteshwar Pujara got out cheaply in both the innings.

Read full story on The Hindu.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here