Indian Women’s Cricket Team Players List 2018

Indian Women's Cricket Team Players List 2018, Indian Women's Cricket Team List, Indian Women's Cricket Team Players, Indian Cricket Women's Team, Indian Womens Cricket Team, India Women's National Cricket Team
Image Credits - Deccan Chronicle

Indian Women’s Cricket Team Players List 2018: Indian Women’s Cricket Team List, Indian Women’s Cricket Team Players, Indian Cricket Women’s Team, India Women’s National Cricket Team, Indian Womens Cricket Team

The Indian Women’s National Cricket Team has grown in stature by leaps and bounds in the last 24 months and is now regarded as one of the better teams going around in Women’s Cricket at present. Led admirably by veteran skipper Mithali Raj, the Indian Cricket Women’s Team made heads turn when it made it to the final of ICC Women’s World Cup in England last year with players like Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana becoming overnight stars in the country. Post that, Mithali and co. also beat South Africa in their own backyard and are now rubbing shoulders with elite teams like New Zealand, Australia and England. Jhulan Goswami is yet another stalwart who headlines the Indian Women’s Cricket Team Players List 2018 as she is the highest wicket-taker in the women’s game. Other than these big name players, the emergence of young players like Deepti Sharma, Poonam Yadav, Jemimah Rodrigues, Veda Krishnamurthy, Ekta Bisht and Pooja Vastrakar in Indian Women’s Cricket Team List has also helped matters big time.

The BCCI’s role and helping hand for Indian Women’s Cricket Team Players must also be acknowledged in the rise of India Women’s National Cricket Team as the board has been a big helping hand. The move to award central contracts to Indian Womens Cricket Team players in 2014/15 was a welcome move on the BCCI’s part.

Indian Women’s Cricket Team Players List 2018: Indian Women’s Cricket Team List

While the first ever women’s Test was played between traditional powerhouses England and Australia in the year 1932, women’s cricket arrived in India after a long period of time. The Women’s Cricket Association of India was established in 1973 and the Indian Women’s Cricket Team made its Test debut in 1976, against a strong West Indies side. The ODI debut came even later at the 1978 Women’s World Cup.

For many years after that, the erstwhile Women’s Cricket Association of India continued to function but as part of the International Cricket Council’s initiative to develop women’s cricket, the body was merged with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2006. It can be said that this is where the women’s game changed its course in the country. The emergence of Mithali Raj and Jhulan Goswami during the same period also helped.

Over the past decade or so, Mithali Raj has established herself as the face of Indian Women’s Cricket Team List as she has shattered almost every batting record in the process. She is also referred to as the female Sachin Tendulkar owing to her batting records.

Elsewhere, Jhulan Goswami has also been a stalwart in the real sense. She is now the leading wicket-taker in women’s ODI cricket and also the only bowler to reach the landmark of 200 ODI wickets in the women’s game.

While the veteran duo continue to shine and set an example for Indian Women’s Cricket Team Players, Harmanpreet Kaur’s rise and impact also needs to be acknowledged. Captain of Indian Cricket Women’s Team in the T20 format, Harmanpreet etched her name in history sheets when she played a memorable knock of 171 runs at the ODI World Cup in England last year.

21-year-old Smriti Mandhana is yet another name who has shown that the Indian Women’s Cricket Team will continue to flourish and prosper once Mithali Raj leaves the stage. Mandhana and Harmanpreet have also set the benchmark for young female cricketers in the country after playing in Australia’s Big Bash League (BBL).

Last but not the least, Mumbai’s 17-year-old teenager Jemimah Rodrigues also deserves a mention while discussing the Indian Women’s Cricket Team Players List 2018 as she is being touted as the future of India’s batting alongside Smriti Mandhana. The youngster has been consciously fast-tracked by the selectors into the senior Indian Cricket Women’s Team so that she can find her feet and gain valuable experience by playing in the same Indian Women’s Cricket Team as Mithali Raj, Harmanpreet Kaur and Jhulan Goswami.

Indian Cricket Women’s Team Test and ODI Captain – Mithali Raj

India Women’s National Cricket Team T20 Captain – Harmanpreet Kaur

Below, you can find the complete Indian Women’s Cricket Team Players List 2018, including information on their playing style, age and the category of contract awarded to them by BCCI:

S.No. Name Age Batting Style Bowling Style Contract Grade


1. Mithali Raj 35 Right-handed Right-arm leg break A
2. Harmanpreet Kaur 29 Right-handed Right-arm medium fast A
3. Thirush Kamini 27 Left-handed Leg break
4. Veda Krishnamurthy 25 Right-handed Right-arm leg break B
5. Smriti Mandhana 21 Left-handed Right-arm medium A
6. Mona Meshram 26 Right-handed Right-arm medium C
7. Poonam Raut 28 Right-handed Right-arm offbreak C
8. Vellaswamy Vanitha 27 Right-handed Right-arm offbreak
9. Lalita Kumari 26 Right-handed Right-arm offbreak
10. Jemimah Rodrigues 17 Right-handed Right-arm offbreak C


11. Sushma Verma 25 Right-handed N/A C
12. Taniya Bhatia 20 Right-handed N/A C
13. Nuzhat Parveen 22 Right-handed N/A C
14. Ravi Kalpana 22 Right-handed N/A


15. Jhulan Goswami 35 Right-handed Right-arm medium fast A
16. Shikha Pandey 29 Right-handed Right-arm medium fast B
17. Deepti Sharma 20 Left-handed Right-arm off spin B
18. Anuja Patil 26 Right-handed Right-arm off spin C


19. Ekta Bisht 32 Right-handed Slow left-arm orthodox B
20. Rajeshwari Gayakwad 27 Right-handed Slow left-arm orthodox B
21. Mansi Joshi 24 Right-handed Right-arm medium-fast C
22. Sneh Rana 24 Right-handed Right-arm offbreak
23. Pooja Vastrakar 18 Right-handed Right-arm medium C
24. Poonam Yadav 26 Right-handed Right-arm legbreak C
25. Radha Yadav 18 Right-handed Right-arm legbreak

WATCH: Rahul Dravid Lauds Indian Women’s Cricket Team

For recent updates on CricketFootball, Indian Women’s Cricket Team Players List 2018, Indian Women’s Cricket Team List, Indian Women’s Cricket Team Players, Indian Cricket Women’s Team, Indian Women’s Cricket Team, India Women’s National Cricket Team, Cricket Live ScoresCricket Live Streaming and more, visit and subscribe to Rooter News and download the Rooter App.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here