Home Cricket IPL Trailblazers vs IPL Supernovas: BCCI announce squads for IPL-like Women’s T20...

IPL Trailblazers vs IPL Supernovas: BCCI announce squads for IPL-like Women’s T20 challenge

Women's T20 challenge match, Women's T20 challenge venue, Women's T20 challenge squads, Women's T20 challenge time
Image Credit - PTI
  • BCCI announced the squads for the Women’s T20 exhibition match, which is set to take place ahead of IPL 2018 Qualifier 1 on May 22
  • The Women’s T20 challenge match teams are named – IPL Trailblazers and IPL Supernovas – with Smriti Mandhana & Harmanpreet Kaur taking up the captaincy roles

Cementing further the idea of an Indian Premier League-like Women’s T20 tournament, for which an exhibition match has been scheduled to be held on May 22 at the Wankhede Stadium, i.e. the same day and venue of IPL 2018 Qualifier 1, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the squads for the upcoming exhibition match, named the Women’s T20 challenge match. In this article, we will talk about the Women’s T20 challenge squads, Women’s T20 challenge time of the match, and the Women’s T20 challenge venue.

Women’s T20 challenge squads to include 10 foreign women cricketers

The Women’s T20 exhibition match, which is now being called the Women’s T20 challenge match, will be one of it’s kind match which will feature star women cricketers from India and around the world battle it out at the iconic Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, i.e. Women’s T20 challenge venue. It has been reported that the Women’s T20 challenge squads will also include 10 international cricketers from Australia, England and New Zealand.

The match which is being marked as the pretext of a possible IPL-like Women’s T20 cricket tournament, will be played ahead of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2018) Qualifier 1, on May 22.

Women’s T20 challenge squads: Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet Kaur set to lead the teams

The Women’s T20 challenge teams are – IPL Trailblazers and IPL Supernovas. Talented and technique-oriented Women’s Indian cricket team opener Smriti Mandhana will captain the team – IPL Trailblazers – while the India Women’s T20 team captain Harmanpreet Kaur has been named the skipper of the second team, called the IPL Supernovas team.

Below are the complete Women’s T20 challenge squads:

IPL Trailblazers: Alyssa Healy (wk), Smriti Mandhana (c), Suzie Bates, Deepti Sharma, Beth Mooney, Jemimah Rodrigues, Danielle Hazell, Shikha Pandey, Lea Tahuhu, Jhulan Goswami, Ekta Bisht, Poonam Yadav, Dayalan Hemalatha

IPL Supernovas: Danielle Wyatt, Mithali Raj, Meg Lanning, Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Sophie Devine, Ellyse Perry, Veda Krishnamurthy, Mona Meshram, Pooja Vastrakar, Megan Schutt, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Anuja Patil, Taniya Bhatia (wk)

Women’s T20 Challenge Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Women’s T20 Challenge Time & date: 2 PM IST, May 22

Speaking about the upcoming Women’s T20 exhibition game, IPL Chairman Rajeev Shukla said, as reported by The Statesman,

Even as IPL continues to roll like a well-oiled machine, over the last couple of weeks, efforts were made to put in place a similar structure for women cricketers.”

“We were in talks with several Boards and I am pleased with the outcome. White Ferns captain Suzie Bates, attacking batter Sophie Devine, who holds the record for fastest half-century in women’s T20Is, Australia’s fine all-rounder Ellyse Perry, wicket-keeper bat Alyssa Healy, Megan Schutt and Beth Mooney have confirmed their participation. Danni Wyatt and Daniel Hazell will add the English flavour.”

“This special game will be played at Mumbai’s iconic Wankhede Stadium and will be telecast live in India and across the world,” concluded Rajeev Shukla.

Small yet significant step for Women’s cricket, claims Diana Edulji

Former Indian women’s team captain and Member of Committee of Administrators (CoA), Diana Edulji said, “We are excited to announce the first-of-its-kind exhibition match involving our women cricketers. BCCI has been pulling out all stops to promote and nurture women’s cricket and this is a small yet significant step towards a prospective league involving women’s stars in the future.”

“The IPL is the biggest and most popular league in the world and it has been a long-time endeavour to have a women’s league that can match the exuberance of IPL.”

For more latest cricket news, IPL updates and football news, download the Rooter App or subscribe to Rooter News.

Watch: Harmanpreet’s massive six – #WWC17 Nissan Play of the Tournament winner


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here