MS Dhoni wins Padma Bhushan Award, Somdev Devvarman and Kidambi Srikanth honoured with Padma Shri

  • MS Dhoni and Pankaj Advani have been conferred with the prestigious Padma Bhushan award
  • Badminton star Kidambi Srikanth and Tennis ace Somdev Devvarman awarded with the Padma Shri award
  • The awards were given out by President Ramnath Kovind in a glittering ceremony at the Rasthrapati Bhavan on Tuesday

Former India captain MS Dhoni, was on Tuesday (March 20), conferred with the prestigious Padma Bhushan award 2018 by President Ramnath Kovind in a glittering ceremony held in New Delhi. While it was a privilege to see Dhoni receiving Padma Bhushan award 2018, in the process, the former ‘captain-cool’ became only the 11th cricketer to receive the award which was instituted back in 1954 and is given for distinguished service to the nation of a high order. Multiple world champion cueist Pankaj Advani was also honoured with the country’s third-highest civilian award in the same ceremony. Besides, ace men’s singles shuttler Kidambi Srikanth and former Asian Games gold medallist tennis player Somdev Devvarman received the country’s fourth-highest civilian award, Padma Shri, from the President.

MS Dhoni Padma Bhushan Award 2018

The complete Padma Shri Award 2018 list was revealed in January this year, including the news of Dhoni receiving the Padma Bhushan award 2018. The ace wicketkeeper is widely regarded as one of the best captains in the history of Indian cricket. The 36-year-old made his international debut back in 2005, and has led India to glory at the inaugural World T20 in 2007, the ODI World Cup in 2011 and the Champions Trophy in 2013. It was during his captaincy reign, when India reached top of the Test rankings.

Dhoni has also been the recipient of many awards in past, including the ICC ODI Player of the Year award in 2008 and 2009 (the first player to win the award twice), the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award in 2007 and the Padma Shri, India’s fourth highest civilian honour in 2009. With Dhoni also receiving the Padma Bhushan award 2018 now, ‘MSD Padma Bhushan’ is a reality now.

The move where we saw MS Dhoni receiving Padma Bhushan award 2018, was initiated by the BCCI. While nominating his name for the award, the board’s acting president CK Khanna reckoned that Dhoni was ‘a unanimous and the most choice.’

“It was a unanimous decision by the members. He has been one of the greatest names in contemporary cricket and the most appropriate choice of the Indian cricket board. He is one of our greatest ODI cricketers with nearly 10,000 runs in ODIs. Not many players have played 90 Test matches. There is no one better than him, who could have been nominated,” Khanna had said on MS Dhoni receiving Padma Bhushan Award 2018, as reported by the Hindustan Times.
The last cricketer before Dhoni, to get the Padma Bhushan award 2018 was another former skipper – Rahul Dravid in 2013.
READ: 10 Indian Sportspersons who made the country proud.


  • Live Scores
  • Prediction Game
  • Live Chat
  • Latest News
  • Group Chat
  • Fan Posts
  • Win Prizes
  • Cricket, Football, Tennis, Basketball, Badminton, Hockey, Formula 1 & Kabaddi