MI Team 2018 Players List, Captain, Coach, Mumbai Indians squad in IPL 2018

As Indian premier League 2018 makes entry, we look at Mumbai Indians Squad; MI Team 2018, Mumbai Indians Squad, MI players List, MI captain 2018 and MI coach 2018.
Image Credit - Mumbai Indians @ Twitter


Mumbai Indians have been the most in-form team in the recent seasons of the Indian Premier League (IPL) and the Mumbai Indians squad (MI Squad) will feel more than confident to retain their title going into the IPL 2018. MI squad and MI Players list were greatly boosted at the IPL 2018 auction where the likes of Pat Cummins, Evin Lewis, Mustafizur Rehman joined the Mumbai Indians players list and has definitely improved the already impressive looking MI team 2018. The MI team 2018 Players list features many heavy hitters as Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, and Krunal Pandya were retained or re-signed by the Mumbai Indians team. MI team 2018 used their RTM (Right to Match) option to sign Krunal Pandya and Kieron Pollard at the IPL auction after retaining Rohit, Bumrah, and Hardik before the IPL auction. The MI players list are in a confident state going into the IPL 2018 and would want to become the only second team in IPL history to successfully retain the IPL title. The MI team 2018 will be led by MI Captain 2018 Rohit Sharma as he was once again named as the MI captain 2018 while Mahela Jayawardena will continue as the MI coach 2018 at the upcoming season of Indian Premier League.

IPL MI team 2018 players list

The Mumbai Indian 2018 players list is probably the weakest in recent seasons after the MI team 2018 decided to let go the likes of Ambati Rayudu, Parthiv Patel, and Nitish Rana, who have played as the connecting link between the likes of Rohit Sharma and Kieron Pollard and ensure bog scores for Mumbai India teams in the past. The MI team 2018 will rely on Pandya Brothers (Hardik and Krunal) and perhaps the over-reliance on those two saw the Mumbai Indians Squad go with a lighter batting order this time. The MI players list will also not see Harbhajan Singh who was thought as if he was from Mumbai and not Punjab having played all the previous IPL seasons with the Mumbai Indians squad. The MI 2018 team has decided to let go many of their players but still have a formidable side to offer, here is a look at the MI 2018 Players list.

Indian Players in the MI players list:

S.No MI Indian Players
1. Rohit Sharma (Captain)
2. Jasprit Bumrah
3. Rahul Chahar
4. Hardik Pandya
5. Krunal Pandya
6. Ishan Kishan (WK)
7. Siddhesh Lad
8. Mohsin Khan
9. Sharad Lumba
10. Mayank Markande
11. MD. Nidheesh
12. Anukul Roy
13. Pradeep Sangwan
14. Aditya Tare (WK)
15. Tajinder Singh
16. Saurabh Tiwary
17. Suryakumar Yadav


Foreign Players in the MI team 2018 players list:

S.No MI Foreign Players
1. Kieron Pollard
2. Mustafizur Rehman
3. JP Duminy
4. Akila Dananjaya
5. Patt Cummins
6. Evin Lewis
7. Ben Cutting
8. Mitchell McClenaghan

IPL 2018: MI Captain 2018

Rohit Sharma was rightly named as the MI captain 2018. Having led the Mumbai Indians squad to 3 IPL titles in last 5 season, it was an easy call to continue with Rohit Sharma as the MI captain 2018 and not only that, Rohit is also the best batsman for Mumbai Indians and often comes at number 4 in the IPL to ensure strong finish to MI’s innings. Rohit has handled pressure and delivered as the MI Captain 2018 including the 25-ball fifty in the IPL 2015 final vs Chennai Super Kings (CSK). Rohit’s role as the MI Captain 2018 will be tough as he will lead the weakest Mumbai Indians squad in recent years.

IPL 2018: MI Coach 2018

It is often joked about how big is the support staff of Mumbai Indians squad but at the same time, MI team 2018 will be coached by some of the best heads in the game of cricket. MI Coach 2018 is the former Sri Lanka Mahela Jayawardena and he will have the responsibility to marshall the MI squad and take them to their second consecutive IPL title. Mahela will be aided by Robin Singh (MI Coach 2018 for batting), Shane Bond (MI Coach 2018 for bowling), Lasith Malinga (MI Bowling Mentor) with Sachin Tendulkar’s crucial presence in the Mumbai Indians dugout.

MI Team 2018: 4 Overseas Players who will play for Mumbai Indians

The Mumbai Indians 2018 team is comprised of some of the finest overseas talents in the IPL 2018 and the Mumbai Indians 2018 management needs to find the best possible combination of 4 overseas players for Mumbai Indians 2018 team at the IPL Season 11. Having looked at the 2018 MI Players List, Kieron Pollard looks a certain figure to play most of the matches for Mumbai Indians while the newcomers Patt Cummins, Mustafizur Rehman, and Evin Lewis could complete the overseas quota of the MI squad. Rohit Sharma could find himself in a new role of batting at number 3 with Lewis and Kishan opening the innings for the Mumbai Indians. In a late call-up, former Mumbai Indians star Mitchell McClenaghan joins the Mumbai Indians team 2018 players list as the replacement for the injured Jason Behrendorff.

IPL 2018: Probable Mumbai Indians Playing 11

Mumbai Indians Playing 11 – Evin Lewis, Ishan Kishan, Rohit Sharma, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Suryakumar Yadav, Patt Cummins, Mustafizur Rehman, Rahul Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah

There is no denying that Mumbai Indians squad looks one of the strongest for the IPL 2018 but when it comes to finding the ideal balance in the starting 11, 2018 MI Players List seems a bit distant from being an assured contender to win the IPL 2018 trophy.

Mumbai Indians’ opening slot will be a cause of debate within the Mumbai Indians camp as Rohit Sharma is best suited to that role but the Mumbai Indians captain has been reluctant to bat at number 4 in the IPL but could come at number 3 in IPL 2018 given the lack of dependable openers with Parthiv Patel and Joss Buttler shipped at the IPL Auction.

Evin Lewis is a match-winner on his day but tends to lose his wicket early and put the pressure on his middle order. As for Mumbai’s bowling, they have recruited well and with Cummins and Mustafizur, who will give Bumrah and MI team 2018 a helping hand to secure 12 overs out of 20 to peg their oppositions back.

WATCH: Sachin Picks up the bat again with Mumbai Indians

READ: Complete IPL Schedule and Time Table for 2018 Indian Premier League.


  • Live Scores
  • Prediction Game
  • Live Chat
  • Latest News
  • Group Chat
  • Fan Posts
  • Win Prizes
  • Cricket, Football, Tennis, Basketball, Badminton, Hockey, Formula 1 & Kabaddi



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here