Five players to watch out for in T20 Mumbai League 2018

Five players to watch out for in T20 Mumbai League 2018
Image Credit - PTI

Five players to watch out for in T20 Mumbai League; Prithvi Shaw (North Mumbai Panthers), Shreyas Iyer (Namo Bandra Blasters), Ajinkya Rahane (North Mumbai Panthers), Suryakumar Yadav (Mumbai North East Triumph Knights), Siddhesh Lad (Shivaji Park Lions).

Over the years, Mumbai’s famed domestic cricket circles have been a major contributor in Indian cricket’s success story. The city has produced national stalwarts like Sachin Tendulkar, Sunil Gavaskar and Rohit Sharma to name a few.

Now, Mumbai is set to become the latest entrant in ever-growing list of domestic Twenty20 leagues as the inaugural T20 Mumbai League is all set to be held from March 11-21 this year.

Six different franchises with brand new names and players will slug it out for the inaugural T20 Mumbai League trophy at Wankhede stadium from Sunday (March 11). North Mumbai Panthers will clash with Arcs Andheri  (Mumbai North West) and Sobo Supersonics (Mumbai South) will take on Mumbai North East Triumph Knights on the opening day.

Shivaji Park Lions (Mumbai South Central) and Namo Bandra Blasters (Mumbai North Central) will start their campaign from March 12 against each other. [To know full squads of T20 Mumbai League, click here.]

Probability Sports India Private Limited (PSIPL), the organisers of the league in association with the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) will conduct a total of 19 matches that will be played across 11 days with two matches being held on most days, followed by two Qualifiers, one Eliminator, and the Final.

The six franchises will play each other once in the league phase, with the top four teams qualifying for the play-offs, which will be held on March 19th and 20th, followed by the Final on March 21.

The original Little Master Sunil Gavaskar, will be the commissioner for the inaugural edition of the T20 Mumbai League while Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar is it’s brand ambassador.

Here, we list down five players to watch out for in the T20 Mumbai League 2018:

1. Prithvi Shaw (North Mumbai Panthers)

The 18-year-old prodigy has been talk of the town ever since he captained the India U-19 team to World Cup glory in New Zealand in February. Prithvi Shaw will be turning out for Ajinkya Rahane’s Mumbai North team in the T20 Mumbai League 2018 and will certainly be one of the star attractions of the tournament. With the IPL coming up next month, Prithvi will be keen to have a good run out in the T20 Mumbai League and gear up for his maiden IPL season with the Delhi Daredevils soon after.

2. Shreyas Iyer (Namo Bandra Blasters)

Having been a part of India’s limited-overs squad for quite a while now, Shreyas Iyer will be aiming to use the T20 Mumbai League and the upcoming IPL as an ideal stage to stay in national reckoning on the back of consistent performances in these domestic tournaments. Picked up as an icon player for INR 5 lakhs by the Mumbai North Central (Namo Bandra Blasters) franchise, Iyer will go into the T20 Mumbai League as one of the big-ticket players and will be on the watch-list of fans and pundits alike.

3. Ajinkya Rahane (North Mumbai Panthers)

Given his mellow nature, it is rather surprising that Ajinkya Rahane has been one of the most divisive figures in Indian cricket in recent times. While he is the vice-captain of Test team, Rahane has invariably found himself in and out of India’s ODI and T20 teams under both MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli. While the jury is still out on the right-hander’s feasibility in the white-ball format, it must be kept in mind Rahane has a stellar IPL record and is a domestic stalwart in Mumbai. Rahane, North Mumbai Panthers’ icon player, will have his teams hopes pinned on him in the T20 Mumbai League 2018.

4. Suryakumar Yadav (Mumbai North East Triumph Knights)

A quintessential IPL find, Suryakumar Yadav has seen his stock go up at a rapid pace after his IPL exploits with the Kolkata Knight Riders. Yadav is a naturally aggressive batsman who also has the unheralded ability of occupying the crease for a long period of time and is a star attraction in Mumbai’s famous domestic circuit at present. The 27-year-old also attracted the highest bid of INR 7 lakhs at the T20 Mumbai League player auction and was signed up as an icon player by Transcon Developers’ Mumbai North East Triumph Knights. Certainly a man to watch out for!

5. Siddhesh Lad (Shivaji Park Lions)

Mumbai’s middle-order batsman Siddhesh Lad will serve as the icon player for Mumbai South Central (Shivaji Park Lions) who shelled out INR 4 lakhs to secure the right-hander’s signature. Lad has emerged as a reliable presence in Mumbai’s famed middle-order and had a good run in the Ranji Trophy and Vijay Hazare Trophy this season. While he is yet to make a serious claim to don the national jersey, a good showing in the T20 Mumbai League and the IPL thereafter might just strengthen Lad’s case for bigger things.

READ: Bowling with Yuzvendra Chahal makes it easy to outsmart batsmen: Kuldeep Yadav.


  • Live Scores
  • Prediction Game
  • Live Chat
  • Latest News
  • Group Chat
  • Fan Posts
  • Win Prizes
  • Cricket, Football, Tennis, Basketball, Badminton, Hockey, Formula 1 & Kabaddi



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here