MS Dhoni demoted to BCCI’s second-tier contract, as BCCI introduces Grade A+ category

MS Dhoni demoted to BCCI's second-tier contract, as BCCI introduces Grade A+ category
Image Credit - BCCI
  • The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) introduced the new Grade A+ category contracts for Team India Men, and Grade C for Team India Women 
  • Grade A+ category is meant for Team India Men who play all three formats of cricket, i.e. Test, ODI, and T20 cricket, and will offer INR 7 crore to a player per annum
  • Former India captain and current wicketkeeper-batsman MS Dhoni missed out on the Grade A+ category
  • Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah are given the A+ contracts

In a bid to upgrade the contract system of Team India cricketers, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) introduced the Grade A+ category for Team India Men. The A+ contract will offer INR 7 crore to the cricketers playing all three formats of the sport, i.e. Test, ODI, and T20 cricket. While Virat Kohli was named in the Grade A+ category, MS Dhoni was demoted to the second-tier contract (Grade A).

The new A+ category was being pondered over by the BCCI for a while, and has been finally introduced. BCCI announced the news officially on their Twitter page, and wrote,

“BCCI announces new contract system and compensation structure for Indian Cricket (Senior Men, Senior Women & Domestic Cricket)”

To balance out the equation completely, BCCI also hiked the domestic cricket match fee structure over 200% in each category.

MS Dhoni misses out on Grade A+ contract

Former India captain and currently one of the world’s best wicketkeeper-batsman, MS Dhoni, missed out on BCCI’s newly-introduced A+ category, as playing all three formats of cricket was a prerequisite that the former ‘captain-cool’ couldn’t fulfill. The last Test cricket match that the Jharkhand cricketer played was in 2014-15 season, against Australia.

While MS Dhoni will belong to the Grade A category, BCCI revealed the names of the Team India cricketers who were to be now categorised in the Grade A+ contract. While five players were named in the Grade A+ contract, seven players were named in Grade A, B and C, each.

Grade A+ category involves player fee of INR 7 crore – Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah

Grade A category involves player fee of INR 5 crore – MS Dhoni, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha

Grade B category involves player fee of INR 3 crore – KL Rahul, Umesh Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Hardik Pandya, Ishant Sharma, Dinesh Karthik

Grade C category involves player fee of INR 1 crore – Kedar Jadhav, Manish Pandey, Axar Patel, Karun Nair, Suresh Raina, Parthiv Patel, Jayant Yadav

BCCI also introduced a new category for Team India Women – Grade C

The new grade (Grade C) introduced for women cricketers now makes it a total of three categories – Grade A – INR 50 lakh, Grade B – INR 30 lakh and Grade C – 10 lakh. No cricketers from Team India Women have been named as of now.

The match fee for domestic cricketers has also been increased. Senior Men cricketers are to get INR 35,000, while Senior Women cricketers will get INR 12,500.

See the complete list of BCCI’s upgraded contract system here.


  • Live Scores
  • Prediction Game
  • Live Chat
  • Latest News
  • Group Chat
  • Fan Posts
  • Win Prizes
  • Cricket, Football, Tennis, Basketball, Badminton, Hockey, Formula 1 & Kabaddi


READ: Virat Kohli and co. reject Ravi Shastri’s day/night Test proposal.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here