5 out of 8 IPL 2018 captains have played under MS Dhoni

Dwayne Bravo will once again dawn the yellow jersey of Chennai Super Kings (CSK 2018) at IPL 2018. Bravo is thrilled to be playing for MS Dhoni once again.
Image Credit - Twitter

The eleventh season of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2018) is approaching nearer day by day, with IPL 2018 franchises shaping up and captains of all teams getting announced slowly yet steadily. There is a quite fascinating feature in this edition of the Indian Premier League, that MS Dhoni has captained five of the eight captains of IPL 2018 franchises at some point of time or another in their cricket career. Let us look at this in detail.

IPL 2018 teams and captains

The 11th season of the Indian Premier League was clouded by a very pulsating urge to assign the captaincy role to a veteran who had the mettle to take his team to much-fought IPL championship. And it can be said after all the captains have been put in place, that it will be a highly-intense affair, the IPL 2018.

More interestingly, MS Dhoni who is likely to be Chennai Super Kings’ captain for IPL 2018, has set an extremely rare record, as five of the captains that will be playing in this edition of the Indian Premier League, are the ones who have been captained by MS Dhoni at some point of time in their careers. MS Dhoni: captain of the captains!

Ravichandran Ashwin – Kings XI Punjab

Ravichandran Ashwin has been named the captain of the Kings XI Punjab franchise, as he was overlooked by his older franchise CSK, getting bagged by KXIP for INR 7.6 crore for IPL 2018. Ashwin has played under MS Dhoni at both CSK, and Team India.

Virat Kohli – Royal Challengers Bangalore

Team India skipper Virat Kohli will most likely captain his IPL team Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) for the upcoming edition of the Indian T20 League. It goes without saying that Kohli has spent major part of his cricketing career in Team India under the leadership of MS Dhoni.

Dinesh Karthik – Kolkata Knight Riders

Dinesh Karthik was named the captain of the KKR franchise on Sunday (4 March), and is now set to take the KKR franchise to it’s third IPL title in IPL 2018. KKR’s previous captain, Gautam Gambhir, under who’s aegis KKR started succeeding, was bagged by Delhi Daredevils, and that gives us another IPL 2018 captain who has been guided by MS Dhoni at some point of time in his career.

Gautam Gambhir – Delhi Daredevils

With his guidance, the failing KKR had taken a 360 degree turn since IPL 2011, and it was Gautam Gambhir, who drove KKR to the two IPL titles (2012, 2014). There is no doubt that this is the reason why Delhi Daredevils bagged Gambhir, as they also need a captain who can turn the fortune around of the franchise roaming in the low rungs of IPL. But where do you think has Gambhir learnt the magic tricks? Obviously, MS Dhoni.

Rohit Sharma – Mumbai Indians

Rohit Sharma has been the marquee captain of Mumbai Indians ever since he was made the permanent captain of the franchise in 2013, following Ricky Ponting’s poor form. Mumbai Indians won the IPL title for the first time under Rohit Sharma’s captaincy, and excuse us as we give the credit to MS Dhoni for rubbing off his team India players so well, that they go on to overcome illustrious challenges in cricket.


  • Live Scores
  • Prediction Game
  • Live Chat
  • Latest News
  • Group Chat
  • Fan Posts
  • Win Prizes
  • Cricket, Football, Tennis, Basketball, Badminton, Hockey, Formula 1 & Kabaddi





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here