2018 Deodhar Trophy: Mayank Agarwal ready to earn a spot in the India ODI team

Here is how Mayank Agarwal was supported by KL Rahul & Vinay Kumar
Image Credit - Zee News

The 2018 Deodhar Trophy is India’s annual List A cricket 50-over tournament, which is played between three teams – India A, India B, and the winners of the Vijay Hazare Trophy, in this case, Karnataka. The tournament, which will take place from 4th March to 8th March, is of significance for the domestic Indian cricketers, especially Mayank Agarwal, to make a strong case for them, as the middle-order in Team India is hiring dashers for the 2019 World Cup.

2018 Deodhar Trophy crucial for Mayank Agarwal

In the recently-concluded 2018 Vijay Hazare Trophy, the final clash had seen Karnataka beat Saurashtra by 41 runs, credit to a 90-run knock by Mayank Agarwal, who also ended up being the highest scorer in a single season of Indian domestic cricket history with 2,141 runs (also the only domestic cricketer to cross 2000-run mark in a single season).

Despite of the excellent batting performance, Mayank Agarwal was not selected for the India T20I squad, for the 2018 Nidahas Trophy T20I Tri-Series, which is scheduled to take place almost at the same time of the 2018 Deodhar Trophy (6th March – 18th March).

The 2018 Deodhar Trophy is an excellent occasion for the Karnataka batsman Mayank Agarwal to showcase his abilities in front of; the chief selector, MSK Prasad, and his colleague, Sarandeep Singh; and make a strong case for himself with the 2019 World Cup approaching and the middle-order of Team India looking vacant.

Unmukt Chand in the mix as well

While Agarwal has dominated the domestic cricket season, another opener who’s also emerged from near-obscurity is Unmukt Chand. The 24-year-old was once a famous name during India’s U19 World Cup glory six years ago, when he led India to defeat Australia. Unmukt Chand had also piled up 323 runs in seven games in domestic ODI, and he will be again looking to demonstrate that his batting prowess is still in place.

There will be more talented cricketers, however, who will battle it out for India’s middle-order spots in ODI squad ahead of the 2019 World Cup. These cricketers include the creamy layer of Indian talent; the likes of Shreyas Iyer, Karun Nair, and even Suryakumar Yadav, apart from the the latest U19 World Cup winning stars – Prithvi Shaw and Shubman Gill.

Squads for the 2018 Deodhar Trophy

India A Squad: Ankit Bawne (c), Krunal Pandya, Prithvi Shaw, Unmukt Chand, Akshdeep Nath, Shubman Gill, Ricky Bhui, Mohammed Shami, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Navdeep Saini, Basil Thampi, Kulwant Khejroliya, Amandeep Khare, Rohit Rayudu, Shahbaz Nadeem

India B Squad: Shreyas Iyer (c), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ankit Bawne, Manoj Tiwary, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Siddhesh Lad, Srikar Bharat, Jayant Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Hanuman Vihari, Siddarth Kaul, K Khaleel Ahmed, Harshal Patel, Rajat Patidar

(Winners of Vijay Hazare 2018) Karnataka Squad: Vinay Kumar, Karun Nair (c), Mayank Agarwal, Stuart Binny, Ravikumar Samarth, Anirudha Joshi, Ritesh Bhatkal, Sharath BR, CM Gautam, Shreyas Gopal, Krishnappa Gowtham, Praveen Dubey, Abhimanyu Mithun, Pradeep T, Pavan Deshpande, Prasidh Krishna, Jagadeesha Suchith, Lokesh Rahul, Sreenath Aravind, Ronit More, Devdutt Padikkal


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here