Injured Ravichandran Ashwin out of Deodhar Trophy 2018

Injured Ravichandran Ashwin out of Deodhar Trophy 2018
Image Credit - Twitter

The Deodhar Trophy 2018 which is set to take place from March 4 to March 8 in Dharamsala, saw India A captain and off-spin veteran Ravichandran Ashwin get ruled out of the side and the tournament due to an injury. In the veteran’s place, Jharkhand left-arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem will join the side while the captaincy is handed over to Ankit Bawne.

Ashwin to rest through the Deodhar Trophy 2018

The Deodhar Trophy 2018 will take place from March 4 to March 8, and Ravichandran Ashwin was advised a week’s rest by the BCCI medical team on 28th February, which means by the time the Team India veteran will be back in form, Deodhar Trophy would be reaching it’s rear end. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) told ANI in a statement on Wednesday (28 Feb),

“Ashwin has a niggling issue and the BCCI Medical Team has advised him a week’s rest.”

While Shahbaz Nadeem has been named as Ashwin’s replacement for the Deodhar Trophy 2018, the selectors have suggested that Akshdeep Nath will move to the India B squad to facilitate the change.

Ravichandran Ashwin, who was bagged by the Kings XI Punjab at the IPL 2018 auctions in January earlier this year, was also named the captain of the IPL franchise. Also named the captain for India A, Ashwin has now been ruled out due to an injury, but things seem covered for India A. A BCCI statement added,

“The All-India Senior Selection Committee has decided to include Shahbaz Nadeem as the replacement. The selectors have named Ankit Bawne as captain of the India A team and suggested that Akshdeep Nath will move to India B squad to facilitate the change.”

Deodhar Trophy 2018 Squads: Revised

India A squad: Ankit Bawne (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Unmukt Chand, Shubman Gill, Ricky Bhui, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan (WK), Krunal Pandya, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Basil Thampi, Kulwant Khejroliya, Amandeep Khare, Rohit Rayudu

India B Squad: Shreyas Iyer (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Akshdeep Nath, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Manoj Tiwary, Siddhesh Lad, KS Bharat (WK), Jayant Yadav, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Hanuma Vihari, Siddarth Kaul, Khaleel Ahmed, Harshal Patel, Umesh Yadav, Rajat Patidar. (ANI)

READ: Kuldeep Yadav, Chahal are better-suited for T20 than Ashwin, Jadeja: Sivaramakrishnan.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here