5 Indian players who scored most runs in a single season of domestic cricket

Here is how Mayank Agarwal was supported by KL Rahul & Vinay Kumar
Image Credit - Zee News

Karnataka cricketer Mayank Agarwal continued his dream run in the 2018 Vijay Hazare Trophy when he played a quickfire knock of 90 runs in the final against Saurashtra on Tuesday (27 Feb), taking his tally to a sensational 723 runs in the 2017/18 season – 300 more than the next best tally registered by any player in the history of the Vijay Hazare Trophy. Here, we list down the five players who have scored most runs in a single season of domestic cricket in India.

Mayank Agarwal registered most runs in a single season of domestic Cricket in India

Karnataka cricketer Mayank Agarwal has now scored 2,141 runs across three domestic Inter-State tournaments in the 2017/18 season, including the Ranji Trophy, Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, and most recently in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. In the process, the 27-year-old opener also broke Shreyas Iyer’s record of 1,947 runs, which the new Team India entrant accumulated in the 2015/16 campaign for Mumbai.

5 Players who have scored most runs in a single season of Indian domestic cricket:

1. Mayank Agarwal (Karnataka) – 2141 runs in 2017/18

Enjoying the most prolific season of his career, Mayank Agarwal has amassed an incredible 2141 runs in his 30 outings at an average of 76.46 during the ongoing 2017/18 Indian domestic season and has shattered many long-standing records in the process. The 27-year-old Karnataka opener has also recorded an incredible 8 centuries and 9 half-centuries in the current campaign. While he stood out as leading run-getter in the Ranji Trophy, Mayank reserved his personal best for the Vijay Hazare Trophy where he ended up with 723 runs – highest ever in the history of this tournament – and was instrumental in Karnataka’s title-winning run. Despite his heroics this season, Mayank was surprisingly ignored by the national selectors for the upcoming 2018 Nidahas Trophy in March.

2. Shreyas Iyer (Mumbai) – 1947 runs in 2015/16

Shreyas Iyer‘s tally of 1947 runs in the 2015/16 domestic season (2nd most runs in domestic cricket’s single season) for Mumbai catapulted him into the national reckoning, and turned him into an overnight star in Indian cricketing circles. In the 2015–16 Ranji Trophy, Iyer scored 1,321 runs during the tournament including four centuries and seven fifties at an average of 73.39, becoming the top scorer of the Ranji season and only the second player in history to score 1,300 runs in a single Ranji Trophy competition. The 23-year-old’s mountain of runs that season was the foundation on which Mumbai recorded their 41st Ranji title. Since then, Iyer has went on to become a regular squad player in the India’s limited-overs sides and made his debut in November 2017 against New Zealand.

3. Wasim Jaffer (Mumbai) – 1907 runs in 2008/09

Domestic cricket stalwart Wasim Jaffer‘s personal best season came in the 2008/09 campaign when he scored 1907 runs in 30 innings at an average of 65.76, including six hundreds and nine fifties across various domestic tournaments. Incidentally, Jaffer was also the captain of Mumbai and led his team to their record 38th Ranji Trophy title win that season. The veteran opener’s bumper Ranji season in 2008/09 saw him score 1260 runs, including a memorable triple century. Having moved to Vidarbha ahead of the 2015/16 season, the 40-year-old Jaffer continues to prove his mettle in the domestic circuit and was an influential part of their Ranji win this season.

4. Ajay Sharma (Delhi) – 1894 runs in 1994/95

Delhi’s tainted legend Ajay Sharma is fourth on the list of players with most runs in a single season of domestic cricket in India. Sharma scored an incredible 1894 runs in just 25 innings during the 1994/95 season at a mind-boggling average of 90.19, which made him the holder of this record for more than 14 years before Wasim Jaffer surpassed his tally in 2009. During the course of his first-class carrier, Sharma scored a record 31 centuries and his batting average of approximately 80 is second only to Vijay Merchant. He also played in six Ranji Trophy finals for Delhi scoring centuries in four of them, but managed to end up on the winning side only twice (1985–86 and 1991–92). Sharma was subsequently implicated in a match-fixing scandal in the year 2000 and had to take a premature retirement at the age of 36.

5. Dinesh Karthik (Tamil Nadu) – 1872 runs in 2016/17

Wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik has been the batting mainstay of the Tamil Nadu team for years now and enjoyed the most prolific season of his career during the 2016/17 campaign for his state. Under new coach Hrishikesh Kanitkar’s able guidance, Karthik played like a man possessed, and piled on the runs in domestic cricket. His tally of 1872 runs puts him in the fifth place in this list of batsmen who have scored the most runs in a single season of domestic cricket. His 704 runs in 10 matches at an average of 54.15 in the Ranji Trophy were followed by a ‘Bradmanesque’ run in the List A formats including the Vijay Hazare Trophy and Deodhar Trophy – where he scored a combined total of 854 runs in 12 innings at an average of 85.40 with a strike-rate of 105. His majestic numbers during the season also gave Karthik a place in India’s squad for their Champions Trophy outing in England in June 2017.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here