2018 Nidahas Trophy: MS Dhoni asked to be left out of India squad, reveals MSK Prasad

2018 Nidahas Trophy: MS Dhoni requested to be left out of India squad
Image Credit - Free Press Journal

India will be taking a rather young and inexperienced squad for the upcoming 2018 Nidahas Trophy T20I Tri-Series (involving Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, India), with as many as six current limited overs stars given a rest including the team skipper Virat Kohli, and the former captain and current wicket-keeper and batsman, MS Dhoni. BCCI Chief Selector MSK Prasad revealed that MS Dhoni had himself requested to be left out of the India squad for the T20I Tri-Series.

MS Dhoni requested to be left out of India squad for the 2018 Nidahas Trophy

While players like Virat Kohli, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Jasprit Bumrah were given a much-needed rest after their involvement in the entire South Africa series including Tests, ODIs and T20Is, MS Dhoni requested to be left out of India’s Nidahas Trophy squad owing to fatigue.

Revealing the decision to rest the key players after their highly impressive South African series, BCCI’s Chief Selector MSK Prasad said, as reported by Times Now,

“We’ve kept in mind the workload and upcoming schedule while finalizing the team for Nidahas Trophy. The high-performance team has suggested that adequate rest should be given to our fast bowlers to help improve athletic performance, maximize rest and prevent injury.”

Speaking on Dhoni’s absence from the squad, MSK Prasad once again confirmed that it was Dhoni’s decision and not the board’s and said, “Mr MS Dhoni was not available for selection as he had requested for rest.”

IPL and World Cup on MS Dhoni’s mind?

MS Dhoni will turn 37-years-old in July this year and given his upcoming workload with Chennai Super Kings at the Indian Premier League, Mahi is planning his schedule months in advance. Dhoni wishes to play for India at next year’s ICC World Cup and wants to keep himself 100% fit.

While Dhoni’s absence will be a let down for his fans and the Nidahas Trophy in general but it would allow other wicket-keepers to step up to the challenge and be ready to take over from MS Dhoni when he decides to call it a day.

India’s former ‘captain-cool’ will be leading CSK at the upcoming edition of Indian Premier League which could be another reason for him to opt out of the Nidahas Trophy as he will be required to sharpen his captaincy skills having not assigned this role in last 12-18 months.

India squad for 2018 Nidahas Trophy T20I Tri-Series

India will be led by Rohit Sharma at the Nidahas Trophy against Sri Lanka and Bangladesh with Shikhar Dhawan being his vice-captain. Youngsters Washington Sundar, Vijay Shankar, and Mohd Siraj will be given an opportunity at the tournament with Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Kartik selected as the wicket-keepers for the series.

India’s squad – Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Vijay Shankar, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammad Siraj, Rishabh Pant (wk)

READ: India’s predicted XI line-up for the 2018 Nidahas Trophy.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here