PSL 2018: DSport to telecast Pakistan Super League in India

PSL 2018: DSport to telecast Pakistan Super League in India
Image Credit - Cricket Country

After successfully hosting and winning the Pakistan v World XI Independence Cup in 2017, Pakistan is now ready to host the third edition of the T20 Pakistan Super League, PSL 2018. And in a first development of it’s kind, DSport, which is a premium sports channel of Discovery Communications India, has acquired the exclusive broadcasting rights of PSL 2018, for the broadcast of the Pakistan T20 league in India.

Pakistan Super League to be broadcasted in India by DSport

The third edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL 2018), which is scheduled to begin from 23rd February, and will see six teams take part in the tournament (including PSL 2018 debutants Multan Sultans), will be broadcasted in India for the first time with the initiative of DSport.

One of the top tiers of T20 cricket competitions in the country, Pakistan Super League was established by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) in 2015. With just two seasons down the line, PSL 2018 edition will see star international players swarm the country which has stayed barren for some while now, cricket wise.

While the last Pakistan Super League edition had seen star players like Kevin Pietersen, Darren Sammy, the new edition of PSL has it’s own share of international cricketing stalwarts. The debutant PSL 2018 team Multan Sultans have picked up Sri Lankan veteran Kumar Sangakkara and West Indies star Kieron Pollard as their overseas players.

PSL 2018 qualifiers to take place in Pakistan

Although the majority of PSL 2018 fixtures are to be held in UAE as usual, the PCB has announced that the 2018 Final of Pakistan’s T20 league will be held in Karachi, with a couple more qualifiers taking place in Lahore. (Read: All about Pakistan Super League 2018)

2018 Pakistan Super League will also see bigger and better fixtures taking place, with an addition of 10 more games from the previous Pakistan Super League edition. Due to the addition of an extra PSL team, Multan Sultans, the PSL 2018 fixtures will be increased from an earlier 24 to 34 in PSL 2018, as reported by DSport.

Cricketing stars taking part in PSL 2018

Among the local cricketers taking part in third edition of the Pakistan Super League, are some of Pakistan cricket’s biggest stars, such as Shahid Afridi and former captain Misbah-ul-Haq, apart from the current Pakistan skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed, and all current national players, including; Mohammad Amir, Babar Azam, and veteran all-rounder Shoaib Malik.

The international players taking part in the PSL 2018 include; Mitchell Johnson (Australia), Chris Lynn (Australia), Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh), JP Duminy (South Africa) and Rashid Khan (Afghanistan). The player roster also includes Mitchell McClenaghan (New Zealand), Luke Ronchi (New Zealand), Colin Munro (New Zealand), Jason Holder (West Indies), Darren Bravo(West Indies), Evin Lewis (West Indies), Lendl Simmons (West Indies), James Vince (England), Tim Bresnan (England), Adil Rashid(England), John Hastings (Australia), Wayne Parnell (South Africa), Albie Morkel (South Africa), Imran Tahir (South Africa), Angelo Mathews (Sri Lanka).

READ: Pakistan Super League: Full squads of PSL 2018 teams.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here