IPL 2018: Top 5 fastest centuries in Indian Premier League

IPL 2018: Top 5 fastest centuries in Indian Premier League ft. Chris Gayle
Image Credit - Twitter

The 11th season of the Indian Premier League is just a few weeks away and the fans can’t wait to watch some of the best cricketers on the field playing for their favourite franchise. Over the years, IPL has seen 47 centuries, with RCB leading the chart with 12 centuries of their own. Chris Gayle has 5 IPL centuries in his career, the most by any batsman but he also holds the distinguished record of scoring the fastest ever ton in IPL history of just 30 balls. As we gear up for the 11th season of the world’s best T20 league, let’s take a look at the 5 fastest centuries in IPL history.

5 fastest centuries in IPL history:

Chris Gayle – 30 Deliveries

In a rain-hit match at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Chris Gayle took the Pune Warriors bowlers apart as he walloped them all over the park to bring up his century in just 30 balls. The West Indian opener, however, wasn’t done for the day as he continued the carnage to post the highest ever T20 individual score of 175, a record that is yet to be broken.

In what was a historic day at the Chinnaswamy, Gayle smashed the bowlers all over the park for 17 sixes and 13 fours as he ended the innings unbeaten on 175 of 66 balls.

Yusuf Pathan – 37 Deliveries

Before Gayle’s carnage in Bengaluru, It was Yusuf Pathan who had the record for the fastest IPL century to his name. In only the 3rd season of the IPL, Yusuf’s team Rajasthan Royals were taking on Mumbai Indians at the smallish Brabourne Stadium. Chasing the target of 213 set by the Indians, Rajasthan were tattering 66/4 before Yusuf Pathan walked in and played what was the most destructive innings of his career.

Forming a vital partnership with Paras Dogra, Yusuf brought up his century in just 37 balls, an IPL record at that time. The 35-year-old however, was left distraught after he was dismissed run-out on exact 100 and the home team secured a win by just 4 runs.

David Miller – 38 Deliveries

With Kings XI Punjab struggling to chase down the target of 191 set by the RCB team, Miller walked out in the middle at the score of 4/64 with over 130 runs needed of the last 10 overs. Almost everyone had lost any hope that they had, however, Miller had some different plans as he played what is arguably the best innings ever played in IPL history.

The South African international smashed a six of Chris Gayle’s bowling to bring up his hundred in just 38 balls and take his team over the line against all odds. In his 101 run innings, Miller smashed 8 fours and 7 huge sixes.

Adam Gilchrist – 42 Deliveries

Chasing 154 at the DY Patil Stadium, Gilchrist just needed 12 overs to achieve the set target. In the process, the Australian wicket-keeper reached his hundred in just 42 balls, smashing 10 sixes and 9 fours. In a partnership worth 155 runs, Gilchrist outscored his partner VVS Laxman by the score of 109 to 37. This was the first season of the IPL, and one couldn’t have asked for a better performance by Gilchrist, who is rated amongst the most destructive batsmen in the world.

AB de Villiers – 43 Deliveries

A list mentioning the greatest innings in IPL cricket would not be complete without the inclusion of Mr. 360 – AB de Villiers. In a match against the Gujarat Lions, De Villiers and Kohli formed a record partnership of 229 runs as the opposition struggled to contain them from the get-go. The only real competition was between Kohli and De Villiers himself as both of them chased their individual hundred. In the end, De Villiers came out on top as he completed a ton in just 43 balls and finished with the score of 129 which included 12 sixes and 10 fours. Records continued to tumble throughout the day as RCB inflicted a massive 144 defeat on Gujarat Lions.

READ: IPL 2018: Top 5 highest wicket takers in Indian Premier League history.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here