IPL 2018: 5 Highest individual scores in Indian Premier League

IPL 2018: 5 Highest individual scores in Indian Premier League
Image Courtesy - Free Press

Over the past 10 years, the Indian Premier League has witnessed numerous high octane performances, especially from the batsman. Superstar players from around the world have lit up the stadiums with some humongous sixes and extraordinary shots which have made these batsmen house-hold names around India. A total of 47 centuries have been hit in the past 10 seasons of IPL, with Royal Challengers Bangalore leading the chart with 12 centuries. Let’s take a look at the 5 players who hit highest individual score in IPL history and the batsmen who achieved these feats, featuring Chris Gayle.

5 Players with highest individual score in IPL: 

Chris Gayle – 175* (66) vs Pune Warriors

On 23rd April 2013, Chris Gayle played what was probably the greatest innings in T20 history. In a rain-affected match, West Indian opener Chris Gayle smashed the Pune Warriors bowlers all over the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium to record the highest ever individual score in T20 cricket, a record which is yet to be broken. In his 66 ball innings, the 38-year-old walloped bowlers like Ashok Dinda and Ishwar Pandey as he recorded the fastest hundred in IPL history. At the end of the innings, Gayle finished with a boundary count of 30 which included 13 fours and 17 sixes.

Brendon McCullum – 158* (73) vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

People who had reservation about the IPL before the start were made to eat their words right in the very first match in the history of the T20 league. Brendon McCullum opened the Indian Premier League with what many regard as their favourite innings in IPL. The New Zealand opener destroyed the home team with a 73 ball 158 run innings. The most brutal attack was against Australian duo Ashley Noffke and Cameron White. In his unbeaten innings, the Kiwi opener smashed 10 fours and 13 sixes and recorded what was the highest individual score in T20 cricket at that time.

AB de Villiers – 133* (59) vs Mumbai Indians

Well, it was only a matter of time before ABD made an appearance on this list, and this is just his first entry. In the 8th season of IPL, facing off against the eventual champions Mumbai Indians, AB de Villiers scored an unbeaten 133 in just 59 balls and formed a massive 215 run partnership with the current Indian captain Virat Kohli. The former South African captain started his innings with 5 straight dot balls but soon got into the groove as he smashed Malinga and company for 4 sixes and 19 fours.

AB de Villiers – 129* (52) vs Gujarat Lions 

Well once he starts, he never stops, that is the definition of AB de Villiers. Commonly known as Mr. 360, AB de Villiers used all corners of the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium to bring up his 3rd IPL hundred against Gujarat Lions in May 2016. Just like the above entry, ABD and Virat Kohli were again the catalyst of a great performance as the duo recorded a 229 run partnership, the biggest in IPL history. However, unlike ABD’s first entry on this list, this time the South African hit just 10 fours but smashed 12 sixes to all parts of the ground, including 30 runs of a Dwayne Bravo over.

Chris Gayle – 128* (68) vs Delhi Daredevils

It isn’t surprising to see the massive West Indian opener back on this list as getting a high individual score is Gayle’s forte. This was his 3rd IPL hundred in just the 4th season, but Gayle made sure that this one to remember for eternity. He reached his fifty in just 53 balls and hit a total of 20 boundaries in the innings, including 13 massive sixes to all corners of the Feroz Shah Kotla. And just like AB de Villiers, Gayle’s innings was well complemented by Virat Kohli who formed an unbeaten 204 run partnership with the West Indian.

READ: IPL 2018: Top 5 players with hat-tricks in Indian Premier League.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here