IPL 2018: Mumbai Indians to host CSK in IPL opener fixture at Wankhede

IPL 2018 schedule, IPL Schedule 2018 PDF Time Table, Match Date, Fixtures of Indian Premier League
Image credit - IPL @ Twitter
The 11th season of the Indian Premier League, IPL 2018, will kick off with the defending champions Mumbai Indians (MI) hosting the almighty Chennai Super Kings (CSK), at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, on April 7. The final clash of 2018 IPL fixtures will also take place at the same venue, BCCI announced on Wednesday (February 14).

2018 IPL Fixtures, Mumbai Indians host IPL opener

MI v CSK – April 7

DD v KXIP and KKR v RCB – April 8

IPL 2018 is right on our doorstep and the opening IPL fixture could not have been planned any better, as Mumbai Indians (MI) v (CSK) Chennai Super Kings will be a grand event with one of the world’s largest audiences witnessing the action. The first double header will be held on the next day of the IPL 2018 opener, with Delhi Daredevils hosting Kings Xi Punjab (KXIP) on April 8, followed by another intense clash between Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) at the Eden Gardens.

SRH v RR – April 9, RR v DD – April 11

Rajasthan Royals (RR), who are returning to IPL 2018 after two years, will play their first of their IPL fixtures against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) on April 9. Rajasthan Royals’ second IPL fixture will be hosted at their home-ground at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium, against Delhi Daredevils on April 11.

KXIP to play their IPL 2018 home-games in two different venues

Except for the Preity Zinta co-owned Kings XI Punjab (KXIP), the other IPL teams will get to play all seven of their home games at their traditional venues. KXIP, who could see Ravichandran Ashwin become their captain, are scheduled to play three of their home games, against – Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) and Delhi Daredevils (DD) – in Indore, with the other four home IPL fixtures home-games in Mohali.

Wankhede to host the first IPL 2018 qualifier

The Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai will also be the venue for the first qualifier of IPL 2018, which will take place on 22nd May. However, the venues for the eliminator and the second qualifier of 2018 IPL, which are scheduled for May 23 and 25 respectively, are yet to be announced.

No change in IPL 2018 timings?

It was being speculated earlier that the 2018 IPL fixture timings would be changed for the 11th season, with reports having made about BCCI and IPL broadcaster, Star, wanting to change the timings in a bid to get higher viewership. Later, the IPL teams had also rejected the idea of a change in IPL fixtures timings. However, the probability has been put to rest for now, with usual IPL timings being retained.
(With inputs from Cricbuzz)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here