Australia vs England, 3rd T20: Predicted 11

Australia v England T20: Watch Online, TV Channel, Aus v Eng Live Cricket Score
Image Courtesy - Free Press Journal

Australia and England will once again meet in the 3rd T20 of their tri-series on Saturday (February 10), before the teams move to New Zealand for the final stretch, and it calls for us to sketch out a Predicted 11 line-up for both the teams.

It is fair to say that T20 cricket is the only format that Australia are yet to master and are often even accused of playing with lesser enthusiasm and motivation levels. The first two T20Is of the tri-series have completely reversed the trend where the Aussies, led by the enigmatic David Warner, have played like a team possessed and have beaten both New Zealand and England in this series.

Here we look at the predicted 11 line-ups of both Australia and England for the 3rd T20 match of the Tri-series.

Australia Predicted 11- David Warner (c), D’Arcy Short, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Travis Head, Alex Carey (wk), Ashton Agar, Andrew Tye, Billy Stanlake, Kane Richardson

The Australia predicted 11 for the 3rd T20 are once again likely to be without veteran opener Aaron Finch, who is yet to completely recover from his hamstring injury, meaning that D’Arcy Short, BBL07’s highest run-getter will another chance to open the batting alongside captain David Warner. Short played a handy knock of 30 runs in the last game against England but it is captain Warner’s dwindling limited-overs form that is likely to be a concern for the Australian camp.

Following Short and Warner are two of the most destructive batsmen going around in world cricket at present – Chris Lynn and Glenn Maxwell. Lynn was dismissed for a duck in the last match and will be looking to make amends this time around. The mercurial Glenn Maxwell was the architect of Australia’s win in the 2nd T20, where he picked up 3 wickets and followed it up with a brilliant century to take his team home.

Marcus Stoinis, Travis Head and Ashton Agar will be the three all-rounders in the team. Agar bowled a brilliant spell of 3 overs, picking up 2 wickets at an economy rate of 5. Stoinis and Head haven’t had much to do in the first two games and will be hoping for a chance to showcase their skills this time around.

BBL 7 star Alex Carey will continue to keep wickets in the 3rd T20.

After their impressive show in the first two matches of this tri-series, Andrew Tye, Kane Richardson and Billy Stanlake are likely to be the three frontline pacers available at skipper Warner’s disposal going into the third game as well.

England Predicted 11- Alex Hales, Jason Roy, Dawid Malan, Eoin Morgan (c), Sam Billings, Jos Buttler (wk), David Willey, Adil Rashid, Chris Jordan, Tom Curran, Mark Wood

England predicted 11 will once again be without the services of all-rounder Ben Stokes for the 3rd T20, as he is scheduled to appear before a Bristol court on February 13 and despite losing their opening game against Australia, are likely to go in with an unchanged team for this match.

In Alex Hales and Jason Roy, England have two of the hardest hitters of the white ball at the top of the order and despite a poor show in the last game, the swashbuckling duo are once again likely to open the innings for the Three Lions on Saturday.

Middlesex batsman Dawid Malan gave a good account of himself at Number 3 the other night and will be hoping to build on his half-century in the next game against the same opposition. Following Malan in the middle-order will be captain Eoin Morgan, the architect of England’s resurgent approach to white-ball cricket.

Wicketkeeper Jos Buttler is one of best limited-overs finishers that the game has seen in recent times and will be followed by the recently appointed Kent captain, Sam Billings.

England’s bowling attack will once again comprise of leg-spinner Adil Rashid, who bowled well in the last game and picked up the wicket of opener D’Arcy Short. David Willey, who picked up 3 wickets the other night, young pacer Tom Curran, the pacy Mark Wood and death overs specialist Chris Jordan will form the pace attack.

READ: BBL 2017/18: Top 5 performers of Big Bash League season 7.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here