Disgraced former Pakistan captain Salman Butt to return in Dhaka Premier League

Former Pakistan captain Salman Butt to return to Dhaka Premier League
Image Courtesy - Free Press Journal

Former Pakistan skipper, Salman Butt, has served his five year ban for spot fixing and is ready to make a full fledged return to professional cricket as he arrived in Bangladesh to play in the latest edition of the popular Dhaka Premier League, a franchise based competition which runs until March 20.

Having been given a final go-ahead by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) recently, Butt will take in the Dhaka Premier League and has committed to playing the entire season for local giants Mohammedan Sporting Club, a club captained by Bangladesh Test captain and leading all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan.

The former Pakistan skipper is expected to make his debut against Brothers Union on Wednesday (February 7). Mohammedan Sporting Club official Wasim Khan revealed that his club were on the lookout for a solid left-handed opener for the league and that Butt “easily fit” the profile, adding they were not concerned about his past deeds.

“It happened long, long ago. He already served out his ban. We don’t think it should be an issue now. We have seen him scoring runs and that is important to us,” Khan stated.

Salman Butt was captaining Pakistan in a Test match against England in the year 2010 when his two leading fast bowlers Mohammad Asif and Mohammad Amir bowled deliberate no-balls during the now infamous Lord’s Test.

The trio admitted to working with a bookmaker and served time in prison in England before being suspended for a minimum five years by the International Cricket Council.

Mohammad Amir, the youngest of the lot, made his comeback to international cricket in 2016 on Pakistan’s tour to New Zealand and has subsequently gone on to establish himself as the leader of the Asian giants’ attack under skipper Sarfraz Ahmed in all forms of the game. Salman Butt will be hoping for a similar eventual outcome when he marks his return to professional cricket after a gap of more than 7 years.

READ: 5 batsman to watch out for in Vijay Hazare Trophy.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here