Jhulan Goswami becomes first female cricketer to register 1000 runs & 150 wickets in Women’s ODI cricket

Jhulan Goswami first female cricketer to register 1000 runs and 150 wickets
Image Courtesy - Scroll.in

Jhulan Goswami is one of the most renowned faces of the women’s cricket in India, and the lanky pacer became the first female cricketer ever to score over 1000 runs and take more than 150 wickets in Women’s ODI cricket.

Crossed the 1000 runs, 150 wickets mark against South Africa

Jhulan Goswami achieved this unique feat (1000 runs & 150 wickets) during the 1st ODI against South Africa where Jhulan scored 8 runs and picked up 4 wickets to guide Team India to an 88-run win in the 1st ODI.

Jhulan Goswami has worked very hard to continue her career which now spans over 16 years. After breaking through in Bengal’s cricket team, Jhulan made her debut for India back in 2002 in an ODI match vs England.

The greatest asset to Jhulan Goswami’s bowling is her height and the pace she generates off the deck. Jhulan is regarded as one of the fastest female bowlers in world cricket who manages to clock at 120 KMPH with a great degree of consistency.

Not renowned for her batting, Jhulan Goswami however, has played some vital knocks for her team in the past and has continued to be India’s strike bowler even at the age of 35. Jhulan Goswami’s bowling and fitness has inspired many cricketers in the modern era and her feat with 1000+ runs and over 150 wickets will certainly be a milestone for others to chase.

Jhulan’s recent form has been excellent wherein she has picked 14 wickets in her last 10 ODI matches. Jhulan Goswami and the Indian team are still getting over the disappointment of losing the World Cup final last year and are once again striving to qualify for the next World Cup and bring the title home.

Over the years, Jhulan Goswami has received great honours including the Arjuna Award in 2010, Padma Shri in 2012 but perhaps Jhulan’s personal favourite achievement was to be named ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year back in 2007.

READ: IPL 2018: Ravichandran Ashwin disheartened over missing out on CSK.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here