IPL 2018: 5 players who can win the Orange Cap in season 11

5 players who could win the Orange Cap in IPL 2018
Image credit - Free Press Journal

The Orange Cap is an annual cricket award presented to the leading run scorer in the Indian Premier League. It was introduced in the inaugural season of the IPL in 2008.

Now that the mega Indian Premier League auction is behind us and every franchise has its core set of players sorted, it is time to shift the focus to the on-field action – the aspect that really matters. The IPL has witnessed some mind-boggling collective and individual batting performances over the years and upcoming season will certainly be no different.

With world cricket’s top batting stalwarts scheduled to assemble in India for the two-month cricketing carnival later in the year, we list down five names who can possibly win the ‘Orange Cap’ in IPL 2018 –

1. David Warner

The Sunrisers Hyderabad captain will be once again be a strong contender to win the Orange Cap in IPL season 11, given the fact that he is also the man to have won it twice in the last three seasons. Warner smashed a whopping 641 runs in the tournament last year and was miles ahead of the second-placed Gautam Gambhir who made 498 runs.

In the 2016 season, Warner amassed an impressive 848 runs and was only second to Virat Kohli’s mastery, where the RCB captain scored 973 runs. The pocket-sized dynamo was also the leading run-getter in the 2015 edition of IPL.

2. Virat Kohli

After losing the Orange Cap to David Warner last year, Virat Kohli will be looking to make amends in the upcoming season and reclaim the throne of IPL’s best batsman. The Royal Challengers Bangalore-captain notched up never-seen-before numbers in the 2016 edition and looks well poised to break his own record in IPL season 11.

Other than getting the coveted Orange Cap back, Kohli will also be hoping to deliver the elusive IPL title for his team this season.

3. Rohit Sharma

Unlike Kohli, Rohit Sharma has led his team Mumbai Indians to three IPL titles during his time as captain of the franchise but has never won the Orange Cap in the past ten seasons. Despite being third in the list of IPL’s all-time leading run-scorers, the Orange Cap has somehow always eluded the Mumbai Indians skipper.

Rohit will certainly go into the tournament to lead from the front in IPL season 11, and add the Orange Cap to his list of Indian Premier League honours and achievements.

4. Suresh Raina

The IPL’s all-time leading run-scorer is back with his original team Chennai Super Kings this year and will enter the tournament as a strong favourite to win the Orange Cap. Raina is an Indian Premier League legend in his own right and was in superb form in the recently concluded Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy for his state team Uttar Pradesh. He is also back in Indian T20 side on the back of his strong performances in the zonal T20 tournament.

Like Rohit, Raina has also never been able to lay his hands on the Orange Cap at the end of any IPL season in the last decade but the season 11 might just be his season.

5. Chris Lynn

A wildcard at the outset but Chris Lynn is a man who can win the Orange Cap in IPL season 11 if he manages to keep his body in shape and play the entirety of the tournament for Kolkata Knight Riders. It is for this reason that the Shah Rukh Khan-owned KKR shelled out a whopping INR 9.6 crores, making him the richest Australian player at the mega auction.

Lynn is arguably the most devastating six-hitter in world cricket at present and will fancy his chances of laying his hands on the coveted Orange Cap in IPL season 11.

READ: IPL 2018: 5 Players who could win the Purple cap in season 11.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here