Ishant Sharma back as Delhi captain for Vijay Hazare ODIs

Ishant Sharma to lead Delhi in Vijay Hazare Tournament
Image courtesy - Free Press Journal

The Delhi & District Cricket Association (DDCA) named Indian Test specialist Ishant Sharma as the captain of Delhi’s ODI team which is set to take part in the upcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy, with T20 skipper Pradeep Sangwan as his deputy for the tournament. The announcement was made by Atul Wassan (Chairman of DDCA’s selection panel) on Tuesday (January 30).

Gautam Gambhir, Rishabh Pant, and Unmukt Chand feature alongside Ishant Sharma

The DDCA selectors named a 15-man squad to take part in the Vijay Hazare Trophy, including other big name players like Gautam Gambhir, Rishabh Pant and Unmukt Chand. The announcement was also marred by a slight controversy as the 27-year-old Kshitiz Sharma was also included in the squad despite only making a handful of appearances for the team this season.

READ: BCCI to review Jaipur’s Sawai Mansingh Stadium before IPL 2018 starts.

Hiten Dalal, Delhi’s leading run-getter in the U-23 competitions this year also found a place in the 15-man squad. Other regular players like Dhruv Shorey, Nitish Rana, Navdeep Saini, Kulwant Khejroliya and Pawan Negi make up the rest of the squad.

It must be noted here that Delhi have struggled to install a regular captain in place this season. Veteran Ishant Sharma was originally named the man to lead the side in the Ranji Trophy but had to be replaced with young sensation Rishabh Pant owing to the pacer’s India commitments. Pant led Delhi to the Ranji final before he was made to pass over the skipper’s armband to Pradeep Sangwan for the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy, which Delhi went on to win.

Ishant, who was in South Africa with the Indian team up until the last week, is now back to lead the side for the BCCI’s 50-over domestic competition. In what has been a fairly successful domestic season for Delhi, Ishant will look to continue their success story in the Vijay Hazare Trophy now.

Delhi squad: Ishant Sharma (c), Pradeep Sangwan, Gautam Gambhir, Rishabh Pant, Hiten Dalal, Dhruv Shorey, Nitish Rana, Lalit Yadav, Unmukt Chand, Navdeep Saini, Kulwant Khejroliya, Subodh Bhati, Pawan Negi, Manan Sharma, Kshitiz Sharma.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here