Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018: Everything you need to know

IPL 2018 player auction on 27,28 January
Image credit - Twitter

The eleventh season of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2018) has almost arrived, with the much-awaited IPL player auction taking place on Saturday and Sunday (27 and 28 January) in Bengaluru. It is a given now that the upcoming 11th IPL edition will be the biggest ever, and so will be the IPL 2018 Player Auction.

The player auction will see 578 players (including 360 Indian players), who were shortlisted from a whopping total of 1,122 players. These shortlisted cricketers will face fierce bidding by the eight IPL franchises for the remaining 182 player slots for the IPL 2018 edition.

Player Retention RULES

Every franchise is allowed to retain upto 5 maximum players. They can do this by two means – Retention and RTM (Right to match). If a franchise would have not retained any single player, then it would only be able to acquire 3 players maximum through RTM.

Maximum Capped Indian players allowed per team – 3

Maximum Overseas players allowed per team – 2

Maximum Uncapped Indian players allowed per team – 2

Total team-purse – INR 80 crore (per team)

36 players in the top-bracket of Rs. 2 crore

As 18 players were already retained by the teams earlier this month, 36 players of the total players going in the auction, will be available in the top-bracket of Rs. 2 crore base price.

There are 13 marquee Indian cricketers in the top-price range as well, which include – Ravichandran Ashwin, Gautam Gambhir, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Harbhajan Singh, Yuvraj Singh, Murali Vijay, Lokesh Rahul, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Robin Uthappa, Yuzvendra Chahal and Karn Sharma.

And the other 23 are overseas players who will definitely be hot properties for the IPL teams in the IPL 2018 edition. Some of these overseas cricket stars are – Chris Gayle, Ben Stokes, Kane Williamson, Glenn Maxwell, Joe Root, Mitchell Starc, Faf du Plessis, Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard and Shakib Hasan, etc.

Each of the eight IPL franchises were given a purse of INR 80 crores, out of which some amount was spent during player retention. The remaining amount will be subject to expenditure in the upcoming IPL auction, which will see 578 players go under the hammer.

The most expensive player which was retained in the IPL 2018 player retention was none other than the Indian captain Virat Kohli, who was retained by the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) for INR 17 crores.

Rajasthan Royals (RR) and Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) retained just one player each – Steve Smith (RR) and Axar Patel (KXIP) – and will now have an upper hand over other IPL franchises in the player auction, as the two teams are left with more money than the other teams to spend on acquiring exciting new talent for the 2018 season.

READ: Rahul Dravid, Sourav Ganguly’s entry to Team India ended Sanjay Manjrekar’s career.

Retained Players, and IPL teams’ remaining money

Each franchise was given a set-purse of INR 80 crores to buy a maximum of 25 players, out of which eight players can be overseas. Let’s have a look at the remaining money and retained players of all IPL franchises:

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) – 47 crore

Players retained – MS Dhoni (15 crore), Suresh Raina (11 crore), and Ravindra Jadeja (7 crore).

MS Dhoni was sought by many IPL teams for his value in the Indian T20 league is immense, but Dhoni had made it clear that he would never have had even thought of joining any IPL team other than CSK.

Right to Match available – 2.

Delhi Daredevils (DD) – 47 crore

Players Retained – Rishabh Pant (15 crore), Chris Morris (11 crore), and Shreyas Iyer (7 crore).

Right to Match available – 2.

Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) – 67.5 crore

Players Retained – Axar Patel.

Right to Match available – 3.

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) – 59 crore

Players Retained – Sunil Narine (12.5 crore) and Andre Russell (8.5 crore).

Right to Match available – 3.

Mumbai Indians (MI) – 47 crore

Players Retained – Rohit Sharma (15 crore), Hardik Pandya (11 crore), and Jasprit Bumrah (7 crore).

Right to Match available – 2.

Rajasthan Royals (RR) – 67.5 crore

Players Retained – Steve Smith.

Right to Match available – 3.

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) – 49 crore

Players Retained – Virat Kohli (17 crore), AB de Villiers (11 crore), and Sarfaraz Khan (3 crore).

Right to Match available – 2.

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) – Rs 59 crore

Players Retained – David Warner (12.5 crore) and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (8.5 crore).

Right to Match available – 3.

Any more rules?

Yes. Each IPL franchise will be required to have a minimum of 18 players and a maximum of 25 players at the end of the IPL 2018 player auction. Each team is allowed to keep a maximum of eight overseas players.Each IPL franchise will have to spend a minimum amount of Rs. 60 crores in the 2018 season, which includes the amount already spent on retentions.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here