IPL 2018: Virender Sehwag predicts the winner of IPL season 11

5 players with best strike rates IPL
Image credit - Free Press Journal

Virender Sehwag is not known to keep his opinions to himself and so, the former Indian opener once again shared his honest views about who he figures would be the winner of the 11th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2018).

Sehwag was quick to point out that Indian Premier League needs to see a new Champion this season as it would even out the competition in the tournament. Sehwag wants to see either Delhi Daredevils, Kings XI Punjab or Royal Challengers Bangalore to win the IPL and end the dominance of Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, and Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Virender Sehwag said, “This year, I would want a franchise who has never won the tournament to lift the title. Whether it’s Kings XI Punjab, Delhi Daredevils or Royal Challengers Bangalore, one of these teams should win the title which will increase the level of competition in the tournament.”

READ: IPL 2018: Rajasthan Royals slam BCCI for unfair auction and retention process.

Sehwag is the current Director of Cricket for the IPL team, Kings XI Punjab, and will act as a mentor in this season’s IPL (IPL 2018) for them with Brad Hodge being named the new coach for the Punjab side (KXIP).

Earlier today (24 January), it was revealed that the Indian Premier League (IPL) Season 11 will commence from April 7 and would run up to May 27. According to reports by Times Now, Mumbai Indians are set to host the first and final game of the IPL tournament, with all the teams getting their auction plans ready ahead of the player auction which is set to take place on 27th and 28th January.

Earlier this month, IPL teams were asked to submit their initial list of players which they wanted to retain. Having done and dusted with the retention process, all the teams will now enter the auction pool on 27 and 28 January to complete their squad-building process, ahead of 11th edition of IPL kicks-off.

Another major change in this year’s competition sees the timing of the matches being pushed back to 5:30 PM and 7 PM instead of the initial timing of 4 PM and 8 PM. The change came after broadcasters Star Sports requested the IPL governing bodies and the teams to agree to the changes and got a positive response.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here